Even Cowboys Get The Blues

Multi-Proc Phantasmal Killer Cleave

Ok, I don’t actually know if that’s true, but I do know that even Devils have Fears. And they’re Blue. I was fully intending this post to be as long winded as my last WoT, but instead I’m going to let the pictures do most of the talking. Basically you take one slightly over-level Barbarian, one Terror, a Night Hag’s Heartstone, and let the nightmares fall as they may. Here’s the link to my Phantasmal Killer Gallery. As you thumb through it, be aware that only 20 pics will show in the ‘slideshow’ at once, you’ll have to manually head over to page 2 for the last bits.

Now, I’ve had a lot of fun in DDO with friends and strangers alike. Nothing beats the social aspect of the game, but some of the most fun I’ve had recently has been soloing with Terror and the Heartstone. They’re just as effective in a group of course, but people get a bit miffed at all the PKing going on. Monks especially kinda like to build Ki…. not much chance of that when one of your group zergs up and fills the halls with blue fingers of death. Anyhow, it’s a great 2-piece combo and the gallery of screenies shows off some of it’s prowess.

I especially like the little 2 and 3 pic groups where I’m demolishing Rares. Oh man that’s satisfying. πŸ™‚ And my favorite is the Utheseen fight. That rare outside The Coalescence Chamber used to give me the willies, even with help. With Terror on my side, it’s downright trivial. Yes, I’m over level in these pics, but still…

At the end of the set I have one pic with the UI turned on. I had the presence of mind to switch it on just before getting to the Rakshasa rare, just to show I wasn’t beating up a random mob.

Anyways, this post isn’t meant as a bragging thing or a showing off thing. Just a demo of how nicely Terror and the Heartstone work together. Even a lame ol’ newbie Barbarian like me can look good one-shotting everything to kingdom come with gear like that. Do go get yourself some for your melees.

8 thoughts on “Even Cowboys Get The Blues

  1. The Monk’s revenge to Terror, of course, are the Thaarak Wraps. Talk about so many fingers of death–it’s like an Octopus convention came into town. πŸ™‚

  2. @Comic: yup, (lvl 16 and up). I wear it almost full time on my ranger, but this barb, Cuirass, has been wearing Worldshaper. That may change when he caps, but probably not at least till Mabar comes back, unless I can epicify my Envenomed…. ahhh, choices πŸ™‚

    @Spence: How’s that work? Doesn’t it sorta hurt ki-gen? But yes, with 2 fists a flyin’ I can imagine πŸ™‚

    @Dona: Anytime you or Even are on w/me just ask. I’ve got all I need from the mindsunder loot, but I still have fruitloops, and I absolutely have no problem helping u farm the thing. It’s a fun easy race to the crystal, and then maybe we can do so DD farming too. πŸ™‚

  3. Oooh, yes, we must farm Mindsunder because Even cries a little every time she sees those blue tentacles… and between your Terror and the Night Hag’s Heartstone, she sees them a LOT. I’ll have to check my inv, I think I have a fair number of shards but not sure if I have any frootloops left.

    So much farming… still need to get Vic a Shard of Xoriat. Slvr and I (well, mostly Slvr :D) did Sane Asylum last night, didn’t come up for either of us but Vic did pull a Sustaining Symbiont.

  4. Hey, it was only mostly me ’cause you were busy, Vic definitely wouldn’t have been piking things (She’d’ve had fun standing in the corner shooting at the body-switching Right/Wrong Eyes).

    As for the Thaarak wraps… I’m thinking that if it procs as often as on Terror, who cares about ki-gen? Punch, zap, punch, zap, punch, punch, punch, zap… get some Enhanced Ki going on, maybe the monk capstone to slowly regen to your steady level, and you’re golden for when you need to actually USE it lol

  5. Thanks for this post, I wasn’t sure if the heartstone was good. Looks my barb is getting a new trinket! Currently unused on another alt.

    @Evennote, it’s not necessarily worthwhile grinding for the fruit loops. Just run Mindsunder on casual and on every third run the quest giver has a named item in the end rewards. I’ve got the titan gloves, the habiliment and the regalia from him.

Leave a Reply

