Sorry devs, but SLOPPY!!!

Okay, I can understand that not everything you’ve done can be fully tested. I can understand that even things you’ve tested can have unexpected effects elsewhere. I even understand that you can’t squash every bug before your schedules force you to get to work on new material. I DON’T want to get pissy about that stuff, because you’ve told us that’s how it is, and you’re doing your best. Okay, taken at word. Great. Good job, carry on.

What I DON’T understand, and can’t accept, is when a bug is reported. You acknowledge it and go back to the table to squash it. You put in the hours, you claim to squish it, but when it hits live the fix is half-arsed, and parts of the bug still exist. This I just don’t get. I won’t even get IN to monks and handwraps. I’m talking some pretty simple, straightforward toggle switches guys. If you’re going to tackle a bug on your list, and claim to have it fixed, you MUST test that what you did worked! Otherwise you just wasted your time, QA’s time, and whatever resources it took to add your non-fix to the patch.

So sorry guys, I WANT to be on your side, but this buggy nonsense has GOT to end. PLEASE!!!!

4 thoughts on “Sorry devs, but SLOPPY!!!

  1. Strangly enough this kind of IT behavior on fixes is the reality in most companies.
    I am a application support guy in RL. And whenever there is going to a big patch/fix coming on it usually means a lot of complaints flooding in for me. Or it fixes it but screws other stuff or it sometimes only fixes partially which has the same effect as no fix.
    Talking to people in other companies it seems that is a standard logic everywhere most of the time.
    Sadly, the main reason behind it is resources. devolpers don’t get the manpower or time to do it decently like they wanted to do ,it theirselves and there is no time for a full serious QA testing.
    As long as companies don’t learn to invest in this or see that this area is worth investing in I guess the problem will stay alive.
    We are going to have a fix install this weekend so better start having my fun right now. πŸ˜‰

  2. I hear you and do not doubt it.

    I myself have worked in a couple high-tech industries; building robots at KLA-Tencor, and building hydrogen fuel cells at Global Thermoelectric. KLAT was heavily ISO compliant. It had a fully staffed QA/QC department (where I ended up before leaving the company to return to canada). Absolutely NOTHING left any department to head downstream before it was thoroughly documented, tested, approved, documented again. If a robot ever reached the end-customer, namely Intel, Samsung, Hitachi, NEC, et al, with a BUG, that customer would instantly drop us and move to the competition. If that reputation for (lack of)quality were ever to get out, the company would be sunk. period.
    Global on the other hand flew by the seat of its pants. We got a ton of federal grant money to run the R&D as far as it was possible, then the company scalpled itself to bits and sold off the parts that still appeared to be worth something. Needless to say, testing, QA, documentation, all that good stuff, were the LAST thing on anyone’s to-do lists…

    I’ve seen it both ways, and it’s a no-brainer which way works long term, and which way doesn’t.

  3. XD haha. One of the most common responses from me (and other devs) is that “it works on localhost/ my computer”. πŸ™‚ See, things have dependencies. The people developing are often not the people delivering (or testing). The development environment is usually “ideal”, so when you deliver, it’s easy to overlook dependencies, which f* something up. That has been my experience anyway πŸ™‚ Especially, when you’re not delivering a new system, but are delivering patches and upgrades.

    (No, I have no connection with turbine. And yes, I agree that bugs the claim to have fixed should be fixed as well).

  4. I hear ya. Most of the glitches I’ve run into haven’t been major, but there are SO many minor ones it really takes away from the game. I understand it may not be the fault of the kobolds – er, devs – but if that’s the case, Turbine needs to man up and get some more manpower and support in there.

    And worst of all, when I DO come across a bug or glitch, I have a hell of a time submitting a ticket. Either it takes 5-10 minutes to load (that’s NOT an exaggeration), or it just doesn’t load at all.

Leave a Reply

